Twenty-two from KSP Honored for Highway Safety Efforts


FRANKFORT, Ky. (Aug. 5, 2016) — Sixteen KSP Troopers and six Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Officers have received Governor’s Occupant Protection Awards for their efforts to increase the use of seat belts and child restraints in motor vehicles.

The awards are based on the number of seat belt and child restraint citations issued in each KSP post or CVE region area. The recipients include:

POST 1: Sr. Tpr. Nathan Clinkenbeard

POST 2: Det. Craig Engler

POST 3: Tpr. Ashcon Karbasi

POST 4: Tpr. Jonathan Downs

POST 5: Tpr. Barrett Brewer

POST 6: Tpr. Zach Alsip

POST 7: Tpr. Toney Allen

POST 8: Tpr. Britt Rollins

POST 9: Tpr. Justin Wireman

POST 10: TFC Jason Scott Young

POST 11: TFC Sean Dixson

POST 12: Tpr. Stuart Wiser

POST 13: Tpr. Jeff McWhorter

POST 14: Tpr. Timothy Duvall

POST 15: Tpr. Charles Hedgespeth

POST 16: Tpr. David Ammon

REGION 1: Ofr. John Sweeney

REGION 2: Sgt. Dewayne Koch

REGION 3: Sgt. Daniel Abner

REGION 4: Ofr. Mark Scott

REGION 5: Sgt. Doug Stacy

REGION 6: Lt. Nathaniel Day

Tpr. Barrett Brewer, of Post 5 in Campbellsburg, led the agency with 812 citations. A four-and-a-half-year veteran of the agency, Brewer is a resident of LaGrange, Ky.

“These officers render a great service for public safety by enforcing our occupant protection laws,” said Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton. “They are literally our eyes on the road and because of them, Kentucky’s roadways are safer.”

There were 761 total highway fatalities in Kentucky in 2015, with 588 killed in motor vehicles. Of those 588 fatalities, 300 (61 percent) were not wearing a seat belt.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), seat belts, when worn correctly, are proven to reduce the risk of fatal injuries to front-seat occupants by 45 percent – and by 60 percent in pickup trucks, SUVs and minivans. Also according to NHTSA, a properly installed, belt-positioning booster seat lowers the risk of injury to children by nearly 60 percent, compared with seat belts alone.

080516 KSP Brewer


Kentucky State Police Post 5 Tpr. Barrett Brewer received a Governor’s Occupant Protection Award from Noelle Hunter, executive director of the Kentucky Office of Highway Safety, on July 28. Brewer led KSP with 812 seat belt and child restraint citations.

Register for our Birthday/Anniversary Club!!