Candidates Finalized for Kentucky Republican Presidential Caucus

The Republican Party of Kentucky announced that the following 11 presidential candidates filed their declaration of candidacy with the state party by the January 7 deadline to appear on the ballot for the 2016 Kentucky Republican Presidential Caucus: Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Ted Cruz, Carly Fiorina, Mike Huckabee, John Kasich, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Rick Santorum and Donald Trump.

“Kentucky Republicans have an unprecedented opportunity to influence the selection of our presidential nominee. The early March 5 caucus date will give Kentuckians a voice before most other states, during a time when Republican candidates are actively competing for support from voters. We are excited that 11 candidates will participate and we welcome their attention,” said Mac Brown, Chairman of the Republican Party of Kentucky.

Voters interested in learning more about the caucus and the candidates can visit the Republican Party of Kentucky’s website,, where they will find information about how to participate in the caucus, a list of caucus locations, and links to the candidates’ websites. Additionally, a caucus location search tool for voters will be added later in January.

On March 5, Republican voters will go to county caucus locations anytime between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. local time to vote for a Republican nominee for president by secret ballot. Of the 120 counties in Kentucky, 111 county parties will hold a caucus within their county. The remaining nine counties will participate at a neighboring county’s caucus location.

Kentucky’s delegates to the Republican National Convention will be awarded proportionally based on the results of the caucus.

Register for our Birthday/Anniversary Club!!