2016-2017 Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) Officers and Board Elected by Members


LEXINGTON, KY – Sadieville Mayor Claude Christensen has been elected president of the Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) with Richmond Mayor Jim Barnes as First Vice President and Mayfield Mayor Teresa Rochetti-Cantrell as Second Vice President. The officers will serve one-year terms.

Mayor Christensen was sworn in by Sadieville City Attorney Rand Marshall on Thursday, October 6, during the President’s Banquet at the KLC Conference & Expo in Lexington.
“KLC is fortunate to have an engaged and diverse Board representing cities of all sizes across the commonwealth,” said Jonathan Steiner, KLC executive director/CEO.

Christensen has been active with the League for several years, having served on its Board and Executive Board. KLC is an association with more than 370 municipal members. The League provides a number of services for cities including advocacy, training, legal and other services, as well as very successful insurance and finance programs.

“Mayor Christensen and all of our officers have already proven their willingness to actively participate on behalf of the membership,” said Steiner. “Mayor Christensen has been a voice at the statehouse in Frankfort for KLC.” Steiner said Christensen has a true concern for the challenges that smaller cities face. “He is a great ambassador for all Kentucky cities.”

Mayor Christensen said he looks forward to the year ahead and hopes to help KLC bring cities together on important issues and challenges. He said he plans to travel the state listening to city officials. “As city officials, we learn from each other,” he said.

KLC is currently gearing up for issues important to cities during the legislative session including revenue diversification, road funding and independence and sustainability of the County Employees Retirement System (CERS).

Christensen said, “As we say – from Pikeville to Paducah, from Corbin to Covington – cities are the closest government to the people, and KLC works hard to strengthen our communities with information and resources for cities.”

During his remarks at the banquet, Christensen said, “Let me say how honored and privileged I am to serve as the Kentucky League of Cities president. I truly feel we belong to one of the most dedicated organizations I’ve ever been associated with. When we work together as one voice, good things will happen.”

2016-2017 KLC Officers and Executive Board Members
President – Mayor Claude Christensen, City of Sadieville
First Vice President – Mayor Jim Barnes, City of Richmond
Second Vice President – Mayor Teresa Rochetti-Cantrell, City of Mayfield
Immediate Past President – Mayor Roddy Harrison, City of Williamsburg
KLC Executive Director/CEO – Jonathan Steiner
Mayor Steve Austin, City of Henderson
Mayor Daniel Bell, City of Taylor Mill
Mayor Chuck Charles, City of Ashland
City Attorney William Crabtree, City of Franklin
Mayor Bill Dieruf, City of Jeffersontown
Councilmember Marty Fulkerson, City of Elizabethtown
Mayor Edward Girdler, City of Somerset
Mayor David Jackson, City of Madisonville
Mayor Bill Kelley, City of Middlesboro
Mayor Troy Rudder, City of London
Commissioner Pamela Smith-Wright, City of Owensboro
Mayor Brian Traugott, City of Versailles
City Administrator Tim Williams, City of Crestview Hills

Register for our Birthday/Anniversary Club!!!

%d bloggers like this: