Local News

Nation’s Secretaries of State Reaffirm States’ Rights in Election Administration

Nation’s Secretaries of State Reaffirm States’ Rights in Election Administration

Bill Stephens

July 11th, 2017


INDIANAPOLIS (July 11, 2017) – Kentucky Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes on Monday led a unanimous group of her colleagues in reaffirming states’ constitutional rights to administer federal, state, and local elections.

The members of the National Association of Secretaries of State unanimously passed a bipartisan resolution in response to a letter they received from the Presidential Commission on Election Integrity. The resolution reiterates the responsibilities of states to run elections and the secretaries’ collective “commitment to strengthening election cybersecurity and processes, and increasing voter participation

The letter from the presidential commission requested secretaries turn over sensitive voter information, including party affiliation, voting history, and Social Security numbers. More than 40 states have said they will not comply fully with the request.

After many secretaries individually expressed concerns about the request potentially jeopardizing voter privacy and infringing on states’ ability to run elections, Grimes worked with a group of her colleagues at the association’s summer conference to put forth their concerns collectively.

“We each devoutly believe in the Constitutional responsibility states have in running elections, including maintaining voter registration,” Grimes said. “As chief election officials, we are resolute in our shared obligation to ensure our elections are free and fair and engender the trust of our citizens. That means reaffirming the rights of our states to run our elections and protecting voters from unwarranted risks to their personal, sensitive information.”

The National Association of Secretaries of State is the nation’s oldest, nonpartisan professional organization for public officials. Membership is open to the 50 states, the District of Columbia and all U.S. Territories. Forty of its members are their states’ chief election officials.

Comments are closed.