Morganfield Lions Club Names Lion of the Tear, Awards Pins, Installs New Members at Annual Banquet

The Morganfield Lions Club named the Lion of the Year, handed out pins, installed new members, and selected a new president during their annual meeting Wednesday.

Secretary Paul Monsour tells WMSK News Susan Girten received the Lion of the Year Award from outgoing President Jona Moore. Girten was honored for her countless hours of volunteer service to club projects and club administration.

According to Monsour, former President Janie Nixon received a pin marking her 15 years in the club. Service awards were noted for Neal Tucker-40 years; Mike Willliamson-20-years; Julie Wallace-ten years; and Mike Floyd, Kim Humphrey and Ramona Floyd-five years.

Garrick Thompson was officially introduced as the 2016-17 Morganfield Lions Club President. Thompson, who heads Union County First, will begin his presidential year at the June 24 Lions Club meeting. He succeeds Jona Moore.

In addition, the following new members were installed: Heather Kirton, Gary Vetter, and a Will Monsour. Kirton works at Breckinridge Services; Vetter is the Morganfield City Administrator; and Monsour is employed at c-Plant Federal Credit Union in Morganfield.

Monsour indicates several by-law changes were voted on at the meeting.

The formal installation of the 2016-17 officers will take place later this month.




Register for our WMSK Birthday Anniversary Club

%d bloggers like this: