Kentucky State Police Post 16 Employee Receives Civilian of the Year Award

Photo: Jerri Walters (center) with KSP Commissioner Phillip Burnett Jr. (left) and Justice Cabinet Secretary Harvey (right).

HENDERSON, Ky. (10-22-2021) – The Kentucky State Police (KSP) held its annual civilian awards ceremony in Midway to honor 14 civilian employees who have excelled in public service and dedication to the agency. The achievement awards presented were for accomplishments that occurred during 2020.

During the ceremony, KSP Commissioner Phillip Burnett Jr. said civilian employees are critical to the agency’s success, and it’s important to recognize their dedication.

“The extraordinary work ethic and commitment to our agency by our civilian employees greatly contributes to the KSP mission on a daily basis,” said Commissioner Burnett.

Commissioner Burnett and Kentucky Justice and Public Safety Cabinet Secretary Harvey presented Henderson County resident Jerri Walters with the 2020 ‘KSP Civilian of the Year’ Award and the ‘Post Operations Support’ Award. Walters serves as an administrative specialist III at Post 16 in Henderson and is a 30-year veteran of the agency.

“Jerri Walter’s was nominated due to her professionalism and interpersonal skills, making her a well-respected leader, said Captain Brenton Ford, Commander of Post 16. Ford added, “Walters has been instrumental in acclimating new post commanders and troopers to post operations for over three decades”. In addition to her regular job duties, she enjoys assisting with post-level events, including Trooper Island Camp fundraisers and the annual Cram the Cruiser food drive.

2020 KSP civilian employee awards also included:

Police Communications Support Award

Jerry Beasley, police telecommunicator II, Post 1 Mayfield

Shelby Grant, police telecommunicator I, Field Operations West Branch

Christy Runyon, police telecommunicator II, Post 9 Pikeville

Post Operations Support Award

Melissa Halcomb, administrative specialist II, Post 10 Harlan

Supply/Properties Management Award

William “Bill” Rayborn, postal technician II, Headquarters Frankfort

Driver’s Testing Award

John Davis, driver’s test administrator, Driver’s Testing Branch 

Forensic Services Support

Joshua Hynes, forensic scientist specialist II, Jefferson Laboratory Branch

Information Technology Award

Jason Rollins, FOR computer EX I, Electronic Crime Branch

Records Technical Support Award

Samantha Lickliter, resource management analyst II, Communications and Computer Technologies

Special Enforcement Support Award

Beverly Hunt, criminal intelligence analyst II, Intelligence Branch

Administrative Services Award

John Rowland, audio visual specialist, Public Affairs Branch

Supervisor of the Year Award

Sherry Bray, administrative branch manager, Public Affairs Branch

Career Achievement Award

Sarah Emmons, administrative section supervisor, Academy Branch

KSP’s focus this year is to maintain and strengthen its essential workforce to provide increased public safety, maintain critical services and better reflect the diverse communities that KSP serves. 

For more information about KSP’s commitment to creating a better Kentucky by making the commonwealth’s streets safer, communities stronger and the nation more secure by providing exceptional law enforcement, click here.

# # #

Register for our Birthday/Anniversary Club!!!

%d bloggers like this: