Kentucky Joins Lifesaving ‘Yellow Dot’ Program

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Oct. 26, 2015) – Governor Steve Beshear today announced the launch of Kentucky’s Yellow Dot program, designed to improve emergency care to motorists involved in a vehicle crash.

The “dot” – a circular yellow sticker on the lower left corner of the driver’s side rear window – alerts emergency responders that a pamphlet with identification and medical information about the motorist is in the glove box. Smaller yellow stickers are available for placement on motorcycle license plates.

“We are always looking for ways to improve safety on Kentucky roadways, and the Yellow Dot program could truly be a lifesaver,” said Gov. Beshear. “If a motorist is unconscious after a crash, every minute matters, and I believe this program could mean the difference between life and death.”

The all-important pamphlet includes the participant’s name, photo, medical conditions, recent surgeries, current medications, allergies, physical information and emergency contact information.

Kentucky’s program will be administered through the Kentucky Office of Highway Safety (KOHS). The Yellow Dot program originated in Connecticut in 2002 and now has spread to 15 other states.

“This program is growing nationwide,” said Gov. Beshear. “Not only will it help our residents, but with major interstates bringing out-of-state travelers through the Commonwealth every day, we knew Kentucky needed to be on board.”

Yellow Dot users are encouraged to periodically review and update their pamphlet.

“Current information is especially important when dealing with medical conditions and prescriptions,” said KOHS Executive Director Bill Bell. “It determines the type of treatment emergency responders can or cannot safely provide.”

Funding for the Yellow Dot program in Kentucky is provided by a grant through the Federal Highway Safety Administration.

Email to request a packet or pick up a packet at the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) central office, any KYTC district office or Kentucky State Police (KSP) Post.

Packets are also available at various hospitals throughout the state.

“The Kentucky Hospital Association is pleased to work with the Governor’s Office and the Office of Highway Safety on this important health initiative that will be so valuable to the citizens of the Commonwealth,” said Michael T. Rust, president of the association.

For more information, visit As distribution locations are added, the list will be updated on the website.
KYTC Central Office and District Offices:
KYTC Central Office, 200 Mero St.; 502-564-4890

KYTC District 1 Office, 5501 Kentucky Dam Road; 270-898-2431

KYTC District 2 Office, 1840 North Main St.; 270-824-7080

Bowling Green
KYTC District 3 Office, 900 Morgantown Road; 270-746-7898

KYTC District 4 Office, 634 East Dixie Highway; 270-766-5066

KYTC District 5 Office, 8310 8310 Westport Road; 502-210-5400

KYTC District 6 Office, 421 Buttermilk Pike; 859-341-2700

KYTC District 7 Office, 763 West New Circle Road, Bldg. 2; 859-246-2355

KYTC District 8 Office, 1660 South Highway 27; 606-677-4017

KYTC District 9 Office, 822 Elizaville Ave.; 606-845-2551

KYTC District 10 Office, 473 Highway 15 South; 606-666-8841

KYTC District 11 Office, 603 Railroad Ave.; 606-598-2145

KYTC District 12 Office, 109 Loraine St.; 606-433-7791

KSP Posts:
KSP Post 1, 8366 State Route 45 North Hickory; 270-856-3721

KSP Post 2, 100 Western Kentucky Parkway; 270-676-3313

Bowling Green
KSP Post 3, 3118 Nashville Road; 270-782-2010

KSP Post 4, 1055 North Mulberry; 270-766-5078

KSP Post 5, 160 Citation Lane; 502-532-6363

Dry Ridge
KSP Post 6, 4265 U.S. Highway 25; 859-428-1212

KSP Post 7, 699 Eastern Bypass; 859-623-2404

KSP Post 8, 1595 Flemingsburg Road; 606-784-4127

KSP Post 9, 3499 North Mayo Trail; 606-433-7711

KSP Post 10, 3319 South U.S. 421; 606-573-3131

KSP Post 11, 11 State Police Road; 606-878-6622

KSP Post 12, 1250 Louisville Road; 502-227-2221
KSP Headquarters, 919 Versailles Road; 502-782-1800

KSP Post 13, 100 Justice Drive; 606-435-6069

KSP Post 14, 5975 State Route U.S. 60; 606-928-6421

KSP Post 15, 1118 Jamestown St.; 270-384-4796

KSP Post 16, 8415 U.S. Highway 41 South; 270-826-3312

Kentucky Hospitals:
Taylor Regional Hospital, 1700 Old Lebanon Road; 270-465-3561

Harrison Memorial Hospital, 1210 KY-36 East; 859-234-2300

Ephraim McDowell Regional Hospital, 217 S. 3rd St.; 859-239-1000

Frankfort Regional Medical Center, 299 King’s Daughter Drive; 502-875-5240

James B. Haggin Memorial Hospital, 464 Linden Ave.; 859-734-5441

Marcum & Wallace Hospital, 60 Mercy Court; 606-723-2115

University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center, 800 Rose St.; 859-323-5000

University of Kentucky Children’s Hospital, 800 Rose St.; 859-323-5000

University of Louisville Hospital, 530 S. Jackson St.; 502-562-3000
Norton’s Kosair Children’s Hospital, 231 E. Chestnut St.; 502-629-6000

Methodist Hospital Union County, 4604 U.S. Highway 60; 270-389-5000

Mt. Vernon
Rockcastle Hospital, 145 Newcomb Ave.; 800-278-2195

Owensboro Health Regional Hospital, 1201 Pleasant Valley Road; 270-417-2000

Livingston County Hospital, 131 Hospital Drive; 270-988-2299

Ephraim McDowell Fort Logan Hospital, 110 Metker Trail; 606-365-4600

West Liberty
Morgan County ARH Hospital, 476 Liberty Road; 606-743-3186

Register for our Birthday/Anniversary Club!!