Gov. Andy Beshear Announces Launch of Permanent Mail-In Renewal Program for Expiring Driver’s Licenses, State IDs Starting Friday

Revamped service provides Kentuckians more options to renew remotely

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Sept. 30, 2021) – Gov. Beshear today announced the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) will launch a service this Friday to expand options for Kentuckians to renew their state driver’s licenses and ID cards remotely through a mail-in renewal program.

“This new era of driver licensing is ushering in expanded services to give Kentuckians more options on how they want to be served,” Gov. Beshear said. “The mail-in program builds upon the successful summer launch of Kentucky’s first online driver’s license renewal service. Both services maximize convenience by helping the majority of cardholders tackle an important to-do on their own time without visiting a licensing office.”

The revamped mail-in service is administered solely by KYTC and is one of the modern conveniences available to Kentuckians as a result of the phased transfer of licensing services to KYTC Driver Licensing Regional Offices from local Offices of the Circuit Court Clerks. All counties will transfer services by June 30, 2022. A list of counties that have transferred services to regional offices is available at

“Kentucky is bringing back a better, permanent version of the mail-in in program that was temporarily offered during most of 2020 to limit COVID-19 exposure at our driver licensing regional offices,” KYTC Secretary Jim Gray said. “The mail-in program is the only renewal service KYTC offers that allows cardholders to do the following tasks remotely: replace a lost or stolen card, update a mailing address, and pay by check. As we look to modernize licensing, we recognize some Kentuckians prefer to do business in multiple ways and this service caters to our diverse population.” 

The mail-in program offers the following services:

  • Renewal of a four-year driver’s license, combo motorcycle/operator license, ID card.
  • Card must expire within six months – or have been expired for less than a year – and the applicant wants to maintain the same card version as their current license (standard or REAL ID).
  • Request new driver’s license, combo motorcycle/operator license, ID card if you need to update your address. One valid proof of address change is required. A list of acceptable documents can be found here.
  • Kentuckians requesting a license replacement (lost/stolen cards). Card will be mailed to the address on file.
  • Hard-copy cards will be mailed within 10-15 business days after successful processing.

Renewal forms can be downloaded and printed on Completed forms may be mailed to KYTC’s Division of Driver Licensing at 200 Mero Street., Frankfort, KY 40622 or placed in a drop-box at the same location. Forms may also be emailed to Printed forms are available at all Driver Licensing Regional Offices and at participating public libraries, Circuit Court Clerk and County Clerk offices.

Kentuckians now have three options to renew credentials: online, by mail or in person. A list of services offered through each renewal method, as well as more details about the mail-in program, will be available tomorrow at

Kentuckians who have a Kentucky REAL ID and are due to renew may do so through the mail-in or online renewal services.

The mail-in renewal option does not apply to:

  • Kentuckians upgrading from standard-issue license to a REAL ID.
  • Kentuckians who would like a card with an eight-year renewal cycle.
  • Renewals that involve name updates. Those must be made in person at any Driver Licensing Regional Office, or Office of Circuit Court Clerk in the customer’s county of residence if they are still in operation.
  • Commercial driver’s licenses (CDL),
  • Initial application for a REAL ID. Requests must be made in person at a KYTC Driver Licensing Regional Office due to document verification requirements.

Regional Offices currently are operating in Bowling Green, Burlington, Catlettsburg, Columbia, Elizabethtown, Frankfort, Jackson, Lexington, Louisville/Bowman Field (appointment only), Louisville/Dixie Highway (appointment only), Louisville/Hurstbourne, Madisonville, Manchester, Morehead, Owensboro, Paducah, Prestonsburg, Richmond and Somerset, with more offices planned to open.


Register for our Birthday/Anniversary Club!!