Local News

DOCJT graduates 21 telecommunicators from Public Safety Dispatch Academy

DOCJT graduates 21 telecommunicators from Public Safety Dispatch Academy

Bill Stephens

November 21st, 2016



RICHMOND, Ky. (November 18, 2016) – Twenty-one law enforcement dispatchers graduated Friday from the Public Safety Dispatch Academy at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The graduates hail from communications centers across the state, and comprise DOCJT’s 109th telecommunications academy class, which first began in 1999.

The five weeks of training consisted of 205 hours of academy instruction to satisfy mandated training requirements. Major training areas included identifying the role and responsibilities of the dispatcher, correct phone and radio procedures, handling emergency and non-emergency calls for service, emergency medical dispatch protocols and use of the state and national criminal databases.

Dispatch basic training is mandatory for any sworn or civilian employee who will dispatch law enforcement officers by radio at a Criminal Justice Information Systems agency.

DOCJT also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky public safety dispatchers and law enforcement officers.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 108** graduates and their agencies are:

Michael Bridger Antos, Morehead State University Police Department
Aaron T. Beaven, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office
Emmanuel Collado, LaRue County E-911
Chelsey Crabtree, Monticello/Wayne County 911
Megan Leigh Taylor Engel, Oldham County Dispatch
Tiffany Sue Filburn, Radcliff Police Department
*Kevin R. Jones, Adair County E-911
Morgan Nicole Martin, Hancock County 911
John Marshall Merson, Jr., Maysville Police Department
Kendra Murphy, Hardin County 911
Jessica M. Pierce, Owensboro Police Department
Denna E. Prater, Prestonsburg 911
Ashleigh Puckett, Paducah/McCracken County 911
*Kendra Rader, Jackson County E-911
Christopher Shoemaker, Boone County PSCC
Samantha P. Stamps, Hopkinsville Police Department
Darrius Taylor, Carrollton Police Department
Jesse Allen Tomlin, Boone County PSCC
Joshua Weaver, Blue Grass Airport Police Department
Brittany S. Wilkie, Henderson Police Department
Jordan Kristofer Williams, Paris Police Department

*Denotes graduate of 165.5-hour Non-CJIS Public Safety Dispatch Academy


Comments are closed.