ST. LOUIS, MO., February 9, 2022 – The St. Louis Cardinals announced today their 2022 coaching staffs for their minor league teams, in addition to their player development and medical personnel for the upcoming season. 

Ben Johnson returns for his 4th season as manager at Memphis (AAA), while Jose Leger (Springfield-AA), Roberto Espinosa (Florida Complex League) and Fray Peniche (DSL) will also be returning to their managerial posts.  Newcomers Patrick Anderson (Peoria – High A) and Gary Kendall (Palm Beach – Low A) round out the organization’s player development managerial ranks for 2022. 

Jose Oquendo will serve as Coordinator of Instruction with Tim Leveque returning as Senior Pitching Coordinator and Russ Steinhorn as Hitting Coordinator.  Former Cardinals Ryan Ludwick and Jason Isringhausen will serve as Special Advisors.

              The following is a complete listing of the Cardinals 2022 Minor League Staffs and Player Development assignments:

Club                            Manager                            Pitching Coach          Hitting Coach

Memphis (AAA)         Ben Johnson*                     Dernier Orozco*         Brandon Allen*

Springfield (AA)         José Leger*                        Darwin Marrero*               Tyger Pederson*

Peoria (High A)          Patrick Anderson               Edwin Moreno^                 Willi Martin

Palm Beach (Low A)  Gary Kendall                     Giovanni Carrara^        Kedeem Octave  

Fla. Complex Lge.      Roberto Espinoza*             Rick Harig^                Bernard Gilkey*

DSL                            Fray Peniche*                    Billy Villanueva^               Erick Almonte*/Luis Cruz*

2022 Cardinals Minor League Instructors & Medical Staff

Coordinator of Instruction – José Oquendo^

Senior Minor League Pitching Coordinator – Tim Leveque*

Minor League Hitting Coordinator – Russ Steinhorn*

Asst. Minor League Pitching Coordinator – Dean Kiekhefer^

Jupiter Complex Pitching Coordinator – Rick Harig^

Asst. Minor League Hitting Coordinator – Daniel Nicolaisen^

Medical Coordinator – Chris Whitman

Strength & Conditioning Coordinator – Frank Witkowski

Rehabilitation Coordinator – Victor Kuri

Performance Specialist Rehab – TBD

Technology Integration – DC MacLea

Performance Specialist – Ross Hasegawa

D.R. Medical Coordinator – Pedro Betancourt

Trainers & Strength/Conditioning Coaches: 

Memphis – Dan Martin & Jacqueline Gover; Springfield – Alex Wolfinger & Don Trapp; Peoria – Paden Eveland & Ryan Duffy; Palm Beach – Jeff Case & Campbell Quirk;  Florida Complex League – Kiomy Martinez-Ortiz & Grace Cullen; DSL  – Riku Shabata, Elvis Hernandez & Gerardo DeLeon.

Affiliate Fellows: 

Memphis – Ben Tricket; Springfield – Adam Harband; Peoria – Austin Schied; Palm Beach – Brady Hall; Florida Complex League – Christina Whitlock; DSL – Gabriel Corporan

*-Returning Manager/Coach

^-Returning Manager/Coach with new assignment


Register for our Birthday/Anniversary Club!!