Local News

The Department of Vehicle Regulation extends hours of operation

The Department of Vehicle Regulation extends hours of operation

Bill Stephens

January 25th, 2017


Offices open until 5:30 p.m. Eastern time to accommodate residents in Central time zone

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Jan. 25, 2017) – To better serve Kentucky citizens, businesses and governmental agencies located in the Central time zone, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s Department of Vehicle Regulation (DVR) is extending its hours of operation to 5:30 p.m. EST (4:30 p.m. CST).

Beginning this month, department personnel have been available to the public until 5:30 p.m. EST (4:30 p.m. CST) in the DVR’s Division of Driver Licensing and Division of Motor Vehicle Licensing. The department’s Division of Motor Carriers will continue to serve clients 24/7 through its web-based services at http://drive.ky.gov.

“For years, citizens, businesses and governmental agencies in areas west of Interstate 65 have needed to adjust their daily schedules to fit the Eastern time zone work schedules of departmental employees in Frankfort,” said John-Mark Hack, commissioner of the Department of Vehicle Regulation. “This increase in operational hours is aimed at providing the very best customer service to the public across the Commonwealth.”

The extended availability of DVR assistance is being made at no additional cost to the state. Departmental employees voluntarily adopted an approved work schedule from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. EST, allowing the DVR to offer a customer-friendly solution utilizing existing employees.

Be sure to visit the newly revamped website, http://drive.ky.gov, to access multiple DVR services online.


Comments are closed.