Local News

Southeast Tourism Society Selects W.C. Handy Blues Festival as a ‘STS Top 20 Event’

Southeast Tourism Society Selects W.C. Handy Blues Festival as a ‘STS Top 20 Event’

Bill Stephens

January 25th, 2017


Travel industry organization has saluted region’s best events since 1985

ATLANTA, Ga. (January 25, 2017) – The Southeast Tourism Society has named W.C. Handy Blues Festival one of the STS Top 20 Event in the Southeast June 2017.

This year’s Handy Fest is June 14-18. The STS Top 20 Festival and Event Awards have highlighted programs around the Southeast since 1985.

Travel industry experts select 20 events per month, and STS publicizes them throughout the United States. The complete list is published on two websites: EscapeToTheSoutheast.com and Travel Media Press Room.

This year’s Handy Fest live music line-up performances are June 14-18, at the Audubon Mill Riverfront Park. Select downtown restaurants will be hosting Handy Lunch Breaks and Handy Happy Hours as early as Monday, June 12th. The entire outdoor festival is free to the public and is sponsored entirely by donors. Last year’s Handy Fest line-up included performances from Victor Wainwright & WildRoots and The Fabulous Thunderbirds featuring Kim Wilson. Guests can expect to hear music ranging from blues, zydeco and other forms of acoustic and electric soul music. For more information visit www.handyblues.org.

“The Southeast Tourism Society’s Top 20 Festival and Event list is an excellent guide for the Southeast’s visitors, residents and travel writers. The events selected represent the best, and often most unique, activities in our region,” said Bill Hardman, president and CEO of the Southeast Tourism Society.

Events considered for the STS Top 20 recognition must be at least three years old and have attendance of at least 1,000. Nomination forms and deadlines are available at SoutheastTourism.org or by calling 770-542-1523.

STS, founded in 1983 and headquartered in Atlanta, Ga., is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting tourism to and within 12 states – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.


Comments are closed.